USDA Approves Natural Disaster Designations for 39 N.C. Counties

— Written By
en Español

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.

English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

Updated: Oct. 28, 2016

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has approved natural disaster designations for 39 N.C. counties. Farmers in eligible counties are encouraged to apply for FSA Disaster Programs. They have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

The counties include:

Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Northhampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrell, Wake, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

The USDA reviewed Loss Assessment Reports from the counties and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant Secretarial natural disaster designations for primary disasters areas. Those reports indicate at least one crop with losses in excess of 30% in those counties.

All qualified farm operators in the designated natural disaster counties are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Additional areas of the state are named as contiguous disaster counties. Those counties include:

Anson, Chatham, Dare, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Montgomery, Nash, New Hanover, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Randolph, Stanly and Warren.

View the FSA Disaster Assistance Programs post for information on specific programs that do not require a disaster declaration. Interested farmers can also contact their local USDA Service Centers for more details or visit

Nimasheena Burns, USDA-FSA